Preserve Files when Deregistering
Preserve Files is a utility booklet that prevents data loss when deregistering your Kindle.
Download
Instructions
- Download the
preserve.shscript. - Move the file to your Kindle's
documentsfolder via USB. - Open your Kindle and run the booklet (it will appear as a document).
- Deregister your Kindle from the settings menu.
- Connect your Kindle to your PC again and copy all documents to your computer to back them up.
- Copy the documents back onto your Kindle after re-registering or resetting.
Notes
- The Kindle expects the documents folder to be empty upon deregistration; however, this tool ensures it is not empty, which is why manual backup and restoration (moving files back) is required.
- This process saves you from having to reinstall your mods and books manually.